環聯2021年第二季度信貸行業分析報告

維持客戶忠誠度是把握信用卡市場增長反彈的關鍵

最新公布的環聯《2021年第二季信貸行業分析報告》顯示,隨著香港經濟持續從疫情中恢復,本地生產總值連續第二個季度錄得強勁增長,主要信貸市場指標亦有所改善1。個人消費於2021年第二季按年增長6.5%,是推動信貸市場復甦的一大因素。

至於新增貸款宗數(衡量新開戶口及反映信貸供求的指標),當中新增信用卡表現強勁,增長高達26%。而信用卡的應繳款項結欠亦有增幅,與2020年第二季相比按年增長1%,是自2019年第四季以來首次錄得按年增幅。

無抵押私人貸款、無抵押循環貸款及信用卡的逾期還款率均有所改善,逾期還款率分別按年改善25、18及11個基點。

隨著經濟復甦和消費者重新參與信貸市場,發卡機構可以從現有客戶中建立和維持忠誠度。環聯香港於近日舉行的金融服務高峰會上發布一項近期進行的研究,重點是為了解信用卡用戶忠誠度的變化。這意味著財務機構需要快速應對並適應日益增長的競爭力,獲得更高消費份額並建立長期關係。

下載報告,更深入了解有關香港消費信貸產品表現的詳情和統計數據。

表1: 2021 年第二季香港主要信貸產品指標

資料來源:環聯香港(按揭數據來源於香港金融管理局 2021 年 6月公布的住宅按揭統計調查)

i. 因匯報機制所限,新增貸款數字滯後一個季度。
ii. 嚴重逾期還款率是指逾期 90 日或以上的信用卡欠款,及逾期 60 日或以上的其他信貸產品欠款。
iii. 逾期還款率一般是以應繳款項總結欠計算,但按揭的逾期還款率則是以帳戶數目計算。

信用卡忠誠度影響未來的消費環境

環聯的信用卡忠誠度研究顯示,21%消費者在一年內轉投另一家財務機構。消費者轉投其他發卡機構時,他們通常會將大概一半的應繳款項結欠從原本的首選發卡機構轉移至新的發卡機構。促使消費者轉投其他發卡機構的背後原因包括信貸評分轉好及信用額度獲提高,如申請信用卡貸款。信用額度獲提高能有效重新吸引消費者及增長他們的市場份額。以信用卡貸款為例,該市場的滲透率為7%,並以年輕消費者為主及有較高的信貸需求。

在活躍和競爭的環境中,財務機構在客戶管理方面採取積極的策略,相對不採取措施的財務機構更快速地從疫情中恢復過來。

劉俊傑

「雖然疫情對經濟造成的威脅猶在,但香港無疑正在重拾增長動力。隨著消費者繼續增加消費開支並重新評估信貸需求,我們預計維繫及管理客戶忠誠度,將會成為財務機構的增長驅動力。」

環聯香港區行政總裁林嘉儀

1 最新數字顯示,在2021年第一季本地生產總值增長8.0%之後,2021 年第二季本地生產總值增長 7.6%(資料來源:政府統計處)

有興趣了解更多?

參加網上研討會並獲取2021年第二季度信貸行業分析

立即觀看

TransUnion Q2 2021 Industry Insights Report

Customer Loyalty is Key as Hong Kong Credit Demand Rebound Continues

Our newly released TransUnion Q2 2021 Industry Insights Report shows an improvement in key credit market indicators. The rebound was influenced by the Hong Kong economy continues recovering from the impact of COVID-19, having recorded its second successive quarter of strong GDP growth1. Private consumption, which grew by 6.5% YoY in Q2 2021, was a major contributor to the credit market recovery.

Credit cards lead this upward trend with originations — a measure of supply and demand — up 26% in the last quarter, and outstanding balances increasing by 1%. This is the first YoY increase since Q4 2019.

Delinquency rates improved for unsecured personal loans, unsecured revolving lines and credit cards, showing an YoY improvement of 25, 18 and 11 basis points (bps), respectively.

As the economy recovers and consumers re-engage in the credit market, card issuers can benefit from building and maintaining loyalty amongst existing customer base. Research presented at the recent TransUnion Financial Services Summit showed the dynamics of shift in consumer loyalty in the credit card market. That means lenders need to quickly respond and adapt to increased competitiveness, gain a higher share of card wallet and build long-term relationships.

Download the full report for more in-depth details and stats on how Hong Kong consumer credit products are performing.

Table 1: Q2 2021 Metrics for Major Consumer Credit Products in Hong Kong

Source: TransUnion Hong Kong (except for mortgage balance data which is from the Residential Mortgage Survey (March 2021) published by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority)

i. Originations are viewed one quarter in arrears to account for reporting lag.
ii. Serious-delinquency rates are 90 or more days past due for credit cards and 60 or more days past due for all other credit products.
iii. Delinquency data are reported at a balance level except for mortgages, which are reported at an account level.

The future is loyalty

TransUnion’s card loyalty study showed 21% of consumers switched lenders within a year while typically transferring about half of the balance. Trigger events for switching include improved credit scores and new offers — such as a loan on card (LoC). Such offers can be effective for lenders looking to reengage with and grow their share of the market. At just 7% penetration, LoC customers are typically younger, with high credit needs spread over several active credit cards.

In such a dynamic and competitive environment, lenders taking a proactive approach to their account management strategies could emerge from the pandemic more successfully than those who don’t.

MARIE CLAIRE LIM MOORE

“While pandemic-related threats to the economy do remain, the Hong Kong recovery is clearly gaining momentum. As consumers continue to increase their spending and reassess their credit needs, we expect maintaining and managing customer loyalty to be a growth engine for lenders.”

Marie Claire Lim Moore, Chief Executive Officer, Hong Kong TransUnion

1 Latest GDP figures show growth of 7.6% in Q2 2021, following growth of 8.0% in Q1 2021 (source: Census and Statistics Department)

Want to learn more?

Register our latest Q2 2021 Industry Insights Report to find out more

Watch on Demand